Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Chocolate Covered Potato Chip Cupcakes

It’s been quite the whirlwind of a weekend for us here at Sweet and Stout! With our wedding rapidly approaching, we’ve been getting pretty busy taking care of all the fun little details that go along with planning such an event. We were also plenty busy this weekend doing cupcake and beer related activities!

On Friday evening we made a guest appearance at Spokane Real Deals and their Girls Night Out event. We sold some cupcakes, and got to talk with some really great people, including Rachelle and Kris, the owners. We also met Ginger of Peace, Love & Pearls, who does great work revamping vintage jewelry. Ginger actually inspired our idea for this week’s cupcake flavor, but I’ll get to that.  To top it all off, we got to meet Dan, of Duo Brewing, who happened to be in Spokane this Sunday. We’ve been following Duo Brewing for a while now, so it was really awesome to meet half of the duo behind the beer. We are definitely looking forward to trying some of their beers in the near future.

Anyways, I know you all really came here to read about our cupcakes, so here they are:

That’s a chocolate covered potato chip on top of a chocolate cake, with chocolate frosting, of course! While I was talking to Ginger on Friday evening, she mentioned that she used to have a business that made chocolate covered potato chips. This sounded like such a tasty idea, I decided that we had to give it a try. Making them was quite easy, just melt some chocolate and dip in your favorite chip. Let me tell you, I’m really upset I haven’t tried this sooner in life. I’m sure they have no health benefits, whatsoever, but, they were the perfect balance of salty and sweet. Definitely worth trying.

For the cake we used Rogue Chocolate Stout, a deliciously rich chocolate stout, that paired fabulously with our chocolate cake. If you are into chocolate beers, I highly recommend you give this one a try. The roasted malt flavor combined with the chocolate is sweet and toasty, and there’s just a hint of bitterness that balances it out. For the frosting I used a regular cream cheese base, then just added the leftover melted chocolate that I had dipped the potato chips into. Looking back on the last year+ of this cupcake blog, I don’t think I’ve ever done just a chocolate cream cheese frosting. That’s almost hard to believe, considering how much I love chocolate. It was pretty much the tastiest chocolate frosting ever, and I will definitely incorporate it into more cupcake recipes! (Chocoholic-4-life)

The only thing that bothered me about this cupcake creation was that the part of the chip that was covered in chocolate got a little soft, not necessarily soggy, just not as crispy as I wanted it to be. I’m not sure what would be the fix for it, but I’m willing to eat plenty more until I figure it out. So, let us know what you think– would you try a chocolate covered potato chip (on a cupcake)?

– Jackie & Dylan

4 responses

  1. Anna Nemis

    This may sound odd, but consider brushing the chips with egg white, then baking for a few minutes. It could be a bit tedious, but it may “seal” the chips so they don’t get soggy.

    May 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

    • I think that’s an idea worth trying, thanks!

      May 24, 2012 at 9:38 am

  2. This particular mix sounds AMAZING! Stumbled across your page, thanks to KXLY’s twitter page! Love to see you are here in Spokane, too! I happen to have Manito Tap House on my list of near-future visits. I will definitely check out your cupcakes!!

    June 27, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    • I’m glad you found us! The Manito Tap House is definitely worth checking out, all their food is spectacular, plus they carry our cupcakes! They usually have 3 different flavors to choose from. If you make it up there, let us know how you liked it!

      July 8, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

