Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Sweet Potato Punkin Cupcakes

Sweet potatoes in cupcakes? Heck, yes.

To say I was a picky eater when I was younger would be an understatement. Sadly, I never realized the goodness that is a sweet potato, until my adult life. All those years I could have been enjoying them! Well, at least I realized in the last couple years, that they are amazing. Dylan & I have been talking about using sweet potatoes in a cupcake recipe for the last few weeks, and we finally did it.

I got the recipe from a coworker. She’s always picking out recipes for us to try, this one was really easy to figure out where to add the beer in. The batter turned out REALLY thick, so I just tossed in a cup of Dogfish Head Punkin Ale to thin it out a little. If you’re into pumpkin beers, this is one of my favorites. I was a little reluctant to use it in the recipe, only because I wanted to drink it instead. But I made the sacrifice for you, dear beer-cupcake lovers. That’s how much I’m committed to this cupcake thing.

For this recipe, I had to roast a pound of sweet potatos, then mash it up and add it to the batter. It looked kind of weird when I mixed it in, but the results were well worth it. As an added bonus, each cupcake has a Hershey’s kiss right in the center of the cupcake. The sweet potato, the spices, and the pumpkin beer blend perfectly in your mouth when you take a bite. The chocolate is (literally) the icing on the cake. When you pick one of these cupcakes up, you can feel the weight of it. They are dense!

I’d say these are like a thanksgiving day dessert party in your mouth. SO good. So good, that I could eat them all tonight, and leave none to take into work tomorrow … Just kidding, coworkers!

In other news, our kitchen is all paid for & eagerly awaiting our arrival to start baking. If you’re around on Thursday night, there will be a sneak preview of cupcakes over at Brews on Washington. The catch is that you have to come play trivia, and you could win them as a prize. Totally worth it. Plus, if you win trivia night, you get $25 off your tab.

If you’re busy on Thursday, make time to come see us on Saturday over at Brews on Washington – it’s our official kick off party! Our wonderful and amazing donors can stop by and get their cupcake prizes. Everyone else is invited to join us too, there will be plenty of cupcakes, in plenty of flavors for sale! Dylan and I will be there, so that’s pretty cool too. Oh, and we’ll have a few pint glasses, recipe books, and t-shirts, if you’re interested. Come have a pint and a cupcake with us!

Hope to see you there!

– Jackie & Dylan

27 responses

  1. OMG! i so want some of these this year….

    October 24, 2011 at 8:19 am

  2. wendy

    Am I missing the recipe? Please give a link. I must try!

    October 24, 2011 at 8:28 am

    • Sorry, we don’t post all our recipes! We’re actually a beer cupcake business here in Spokane, WA, and we’re just getting started.

      October 24, 2011 at 8:31 am

      • Such a tease. LOL Will you ship to NJ?

        October 24, 2011 at 8:35 am

      • We’re hoping that as our business grows, it will also include shipping to places in the U.S., but we’re not quite there yet!

        October 24, 2011 at 8:40 am

  3. Is there a way to get a recipe? I live deep in the heart of Texas but I’m a fall flavor fanatic and would love to try and make these at home with my extra 4 pack of Punkin Ale! Pretty please?

    October 24, 2011 at 8:30 am

  4. Jenni

    Can you email the recipe to me please? These sound amazing and I really want to try them!! Thank you 🙂

    October 24, 2011 at 8:34 am

  5. Leslie

    Hi Dylan and Jackie! All of your cupcakes look amazing! I was wondering if you would provide this recipe? We live in Colorado and so will not be able to order them from you but would love to try this recipe ourselves (my husband is a beer geek and this would be fun to try). When we are out in Washington we will come by your upcoming store!
    Leslie

    October 24, 2011 at 8:34 am

    • Kelsey

      I would LOVE to have this recipe as well. I promise to visit your store when I finally make it out to Washington (am currently in Baltimore, MD).

      October 24, 2011 at 8:57 am

  6. If you could please deliver four, we surely could use them. Oh and I would also like at least four of the Punkin Ales. Thank you kindly for your assistance.

    Wouldn’t it be nice…. =)

    October 24, 2011 at 8:55 am

  7. Awesome! My bf wants me to make these…haha

    October 24, 2011 at 9:10 am

  8. We live in San Diego, and would LOVE LOVE these, but we can’t take the time to drive up to Spokane. If you could just email us the recipe, or ship to us, that’d be great! I know you’re not trying to let all your recipes leak, since you need them for your business, but what about people not in the area? :[ Pretty Please!! :]

    October 24, 2011 at 9:52 am

  9. Kim D'Amico

    I too would LOVE this recipe! My husband might marry me all over again. This would be perfect for halloween!

    October 24, 2011 at 9:54 am

  10. Aww, I would LOVE to see a recipe for these! Or at least taste them. Sadly, I’m in Belgium. 😦

    October 24, 2011 at 10:16 am

  11. meta

    Don’t give in! Hold out on your secret recipes! It’ll make your will that much more exciting someday. Who gets the treasured sweet-potato pumpkin cupcake recipe????? =)

    October 24, 2011 at 11:20 am

  12. Really lame how you present the blog post as if it’s going to include a recipe, then make us read through it before discovering there is no recipe.

    October 24, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    • I knew it’d only be a matter of time before the negative comments came rolling in. I addressed this over on Google +, but I think it needs to be said here:

      [In response to people asking for the recipe]

      We’re just so new in this whole business thing, I don’t want to give away all our recipes just yet. We have shared a few recipes on our blog, one was just a couple weeks ago. It was never our intent to post recipes for everything that we create. We just wanted to share ideas about baking cupcakes with beer, and now to help promote our business here in Spokane, WA.

      It is possible, in the near future, that we would open up to selling/shipping across the country. If we give the recipe out, then there’d be no reason to order from us. This is why I’ve been struggling with what to do on this.

      I really appreciate the (mostly) positive response, but some people can be pretty demanding when it comes to asking for a recipe. Sweet and Stout is just 2 people who work full time doing other things. This is our hobby that has turned into a business. I don’t think either of us were prepared for the kinds of responses that we got from this post today, it’s a bit overwhelming.

      October 24, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      • Kelsey

        SweetandStout:

        I think the reason, I (and others) requested the recipe is that you wrote in your post:

        “I got the recipe from a coworker. She’s always picking out recipes for us to try, this one was really easy to figure out where to add the beer in.” That sentence seemed to me to mean that this was not an original recipe. I’m not trying to give you a hard time, but just pointing out where the disgruntled comments may have come from.

        Thanks for the inspiration and happy baking!

        October 25, 2011 at 8:21 am

      • Thanks for your comment Kelsey. We’ve been getting a lot of emails/messages/comments about this.

        I understand that people see food blogs and automatically assume there is going to be a recipe. It’s not that it’s hard to find a recipe, and I’m sure there are many sweet potato cake recipes out there. This specific one that we used came from a friend, and I don’t feel it necessary to post her recipe to the public. I get that people might be disappointed that I didn’t post the recipe to accompany this, but that’s not what this blog was ever about. I realize that many people are seeing this blog for the first time, coming from the Dogfish Head post about it, but we’re not going to change what we’ve been doing here for the last several months.

        What I don’t understand is why some (not all) people are being so demanding about it. We’ve been writing this blog since March and in the last few months, we have gone through a lot of hard work to turn this into a business. We didn’t do all this work to just give everything away. This is the first time that we’ve gotten some angry responses to not posting a recipe, and it’s really difficult to not take it personal. Sweet and Stout is a part of us. I’m trying (really hard) not to get in arguments with people over the internet, and not sound like a jerk, but it’s frustrating having so many people demand something from you like they are entitled to it.

        October 25, 2011 at 9:03 am

    • Eric

      Why should someone divulge their intellectual property for free?

      October 24, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  13. I have one small favor to ask you. Would you please teleport me to Spokane so that I might try these? Pretty please?

    October 24, 2011 at 3:27 pm

  14. Never you mind the demanding folks, you just hold onto them, once a recipe is out there you can’t take it back and you can always change your mind later or even publish a book if you’re so inclined. It is great that so many people want to *buy* your cupcakes even though they live far away… sadly it isn’t great to have folks that can’t understand creating a recipe is hard work and you can’t just give away all of your intellectual property or you’ll never have a business. You two just keep doing what you’re doing and grow your business, we’ll all still be waiting for tasty mail when you’re ready 🙂

    October 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  15. Dogfish Punkin’ is one of my favorite Fall beers!! i bet these cupcakes are soooo delicious! Great pairing with sweet potatoes – so creative!

    October 24, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  16. Jo

    Hello Sweet and Stout, I just want to say don’t worry about the people who are mad that you won’t give out every one of your recipes. Your blog is fun and frankly it has inspired me to experiment with interesting ingrediants in the my baking. Keep up the great work and I hope your business takes off!

    October 25, 2011 at 9:24 am

  17. Could you please send the recipe, as well as the passwords to all your corporate bank accounts? A truckload of cupcakes for free would also be great…thanks.

    October 25, 2011 at 2:12 pm

  18. Kristen

    Jackie-

    You and your partner are an inspiration! I am sorry for all the guff you’ve been given about not releasing your recipe. Stick to your guns lady! Plus for all of you who requested the recipe a simple Google search yielded me a great sweet potato cupcake recipe, which I just made adding Wolaver’s Pumpkin Ale. Here’s the recipe for those you who are interested: http://bit.ly/3NjxKK.

    Sadly, I am on the East Coast so will not be able to try these in person. I do have lots of folks in WA though and will definitely encouage them to pay you a visit.

    Cheers!

    Kristen

    November 13, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    • Thanks Kristen! I’m glad we inspired you to get creative in the kitchen, that was our goal from the beginning of all this. Glad you found us, and hope you keep checking back for more beer cupcake ideas. We’re hoping in the future, we’ll be able to ship our cupcakes across the country, so maybe you will get to try one sometime soon!
      – Jackie

      November 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

