Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Chocolate Pumpkin Cheesecake Cupcakes

This weekend’s cupcake came to be for two reasons: 1. I love pumpkin (in just about every dessert I can put it in) and 2. We went to the Spokane Oktoberfest on Saturday and everyone was out of pumpkin beer! (What’s up with that?)

Some people may find this strange, but pumpkin and chocolate together is almost the best thing ever… if you add cheesecake to the equation, well, then that IS the best thing ever. For this recipe I took my favorite chocolate beer cake recipe and made it with Night Owl, a pumpkin ale from Elysian Brewing Company. Believe it or not, I had a difficult time finding a pumpkin beer. Well, one that wasn’t Blue Moon pumpkin ale. After a couple stores, I found the Night Owl, and having had it before, decided that’s the beer we would use. Dylan is not a fan of pumpkin ales, but I definitely seek them out this time of year. They are good.

To get the cheesecake part, I whipped up some cream cheese, pumpkin and spices then swirled it in the cupcake pan with the chocolate cake batter. Some turned out more chocolatey and others turned out more like cheesecake. Then we topped them all off with a basic cream cheese frosting with a little pumpkin added in. (Told you I put pumpkin in everything.) Overall these cupcakes turned out really moist, and quite delicious.

Nicole Hensley  and Mike Tigas stopped by this evening to talk beer cupcakes and to see the tiny kitchen they’re made in (for now). Despite our kitchen’s small size, we still really enjoy having people stop by. (It also gives us a reason to keep up on the house work.) We sent them away with 6 cupcakes, and I’m pretty sure (judging by their positive reactions) that they really enjoyed them!

– Jackie

6 responses

  1. Amanda K

    WANT!!! How is Elysian’s pumpkin beer?

    September 26, 2011 at 8:19 am

    • I think their pumpkin beer is pretty good. It’s not overpowering on the spice like some I’ve had. I could drink a 22 ounce bomber by myself.

      September 26, 2011 at 8:30 am

  2. I happen to know of a little place in Spokane that *JUST* put a keg on tap! I’ll let you guess where that’s at.

    September 26, 2011 at 8:56 am

    • Brett, that’s why Brew on Washington is my favorite place! You guys always have something good on tap that I need to have. : )

      September 26, 2011 at 9:20 am

  3. GreenBluffborn

    sounds incredible, where’s the recipe? need to try that one.

    September 26, 2011 at 4:06 pm

  4. mychell

    Ditto – can I get the recipe?

    September 16, 2012 at 9:44 am

Leave a Reply

