Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Research and development is tough work, but somebody has to do it.

There's a lot (of drinking) that goes into research and development.

This week, instead of baking a new kind of cupcake, I wanted to take a post to organize my thoughts and share some news. We’ve been busy over here at Sweet and Stout. Like, mega-super-duper busy.

In case you missed it, we were interviewed by the Inlander recently, you can read our article here. On that note, I need to give a public thank you to my friend, and coworker, Chey Scott. If it weren’t for her submitting a “hey, check out my friend’s really cool blog” -email, we may not have gotten the opportunity to meet up with Jordy from the Inlander to chat about our blog. This fateful email also led us to the ever amazing and helpful Brett and Katie Anderson, the owners of Brews on Washington. We had the opportunity to meet up with Brett and Katie last month, we discussed the cupcakes of course, but we also talked about going commercial (which I may have mentioned previously).

With the encouragement that we have received from our family, friends, coworkers, faithful blog readers, and countless other people, I am pleased to announce that we are actively pursuing a commercial venture. For the last few weeks, we’ve been working our butts off filing paperwork, deciphering government regulations, writing out procedures and drawing flow charts. I’ve been on the phones more than I have ever been in life. Dylan is working on his sales pitch. We. Want. To. Do. Business.

We’ve got some really cool and exciting projects coming down the pipeline. I wish I could share them all with you right now, as I’m just about ready to burst! There’s so much planning, figuring and plotting to do. Have I also mentioned that we’re working on planning a wedding too? We’ve got our hands full, but the motivation is there. Our will to see this through is unshakable. This is us taking life by the reins and we’re going to accomplish great things.

It’s all of you that I really need to give a public thank you to. Without your support, positive feedback, and excitement for our cupcakes this would not have been possible. We hope that you will stay tuned to see how our story plays out. Also, if you stick around, the odds of you actually getting to try one of our cupcakes greatly increases!

My apologies for not posting a new and tasty creation this week. I did bake this weekend because I thought we were having visitors, but sadly, we got our dates confused. Not so sad is all the cupcakes I have sitting in my refrigerator right now! I made some of our salted chocolate caramel cupcakes with Guinness, think I’ll go have one right now actually…

One of my all-time favorites!

I do have a question for all of you, if you could pick which flavors (we’re going to start out with 6 offerings) of cupcake you’d like to try the most, what would they be? You can leave your input in the comments, or take a visit to us over on facebook and let us know.

4 responses

  1. Chey

    Thanks for the shout-out! I am super excited for you guys as you pursue this endeavor and I know it’s going to totally take off and be an awesome experience and business here in the community. 🙂 I am just glad to be a small part of your journey! 🙂

    August 22, 2011 at 9:56 am

  2. Elaine Abrams

    We are looking forward to seeing you Friday and I know Lauren is excited too.

    August 23, 2011 at 6:44 am

  3. Congratulations – and best of luck on your venture! From what I’ve seen on your blog, you’re super creative and will be very successful! I look forward to seeing what you create next!

    Oh, btw… love the bottle cap pic! 😉

    August 24, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    • Thank you, thank you! We’re SO excited for the future. (Glad you liked the bottle cap pic, I thought of your blog after I took it!)

      August 25, 2011 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

