Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Chocolate Raspberry IPA cupcakes

Every now and then, I have an idea that sounds awesome, but when it’s actually made, it’s kind of awkward and strange. That’s what happened this past weekend. I got it into my head that smoked chocolate would be a new flavor we could implement in some of our cupcakes. I made a chocolate ganache for the frosting over my little charcoal grill and used hickory chips to smoke it. (Looking back, hickory was probably not the best choice) I let it fully cook in the smoke and heat, then put it in the refrigerator to cool.

I did this all on Friday night, Saturday morning I made some chocolate cupcakes to go with it. I used my favorite chocolate cake recipe, which usually calls for a stout. I happen to have a growler of Great Divide’s Rumble Oaked Aged IPA, and wanted to use that instead, so I did. I won that growler last Thursday evening while playing trivia over at Brews on Washington, look how pretty it is!

If you’ve never had the Rumble before, I highly recommend it, it’s so delicious. I’m a sucker for anything oak aged, and you can definitely taste it in this brew. When I mixed it up with the chocolate, it had a very appealing aroma, like chocolate-woody goodness. This is why I thought the smoked chocolate would be a great idea. On paper it looked great …

I ended up putting some raspberry jam in the middle of half the cupcakes because when I said “smoked chocolate raspberry IPA cupcakes” it sounded really amazing. Well, after they were all baked, I got out my ganache, and frosted one up. It was okay, but it was more like tasting a barbequed cupcake, and just kind of weird. I was taking these out to a friend that afternoon, and I didn’t want to subject her to my strange cupcake experiment, so I resorted to plan B: raspberry cream cheese frosting.

I had just enough ingredients around the house to pull this together, and was so happy I didn’t have to go to the store. I even added some raspberry jello (the powder, not already made jello, that’d be weird) to the frosting to give it that extra raspberry taste. As a bonus, the frosting came out this tasty looking pink color, a nice contrast to the dark chocolate cupcake.

I frosted the cakes, boxed them up and took them out to my friend’s place. They loved them! I’m so glad I went with raspberry. I may try to smoke some chocolate again, perhaps with apple wood, or something a little more sweet. It won’t be for a while though.

– Jackie

4 responses

  1. Elaine Abrams

    You never know unless you dream………….

    August 8, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    • So true! I’m glad I tried it. Some goofy ideas could lead towards a really great one, you never know!

      August 8, 2011 at 2:46 pm

  2. Amanda

    Would you be willing to share a) the chocolate cupcake recipe you used, and b) the cream cheese frosting recipe?

    November 18, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • Hi Amanda,
      We have posted a few of our recipes throughout the blog, you could use the chocolate one and get the recipe for cream cheese frosting from our coconut post (omitting the coconut rum on that one). We don’t make it a point to post all of our recipes, mainly because we are in the business of selling cupcakes. We also like to encourage creativity and experimenting in the kitchen while baking with beer. Happy baking!

      November 27, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

