Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Smoked Porter Maple Bacon

Bacon and beer lovers unite! We decided to take our spin on the ever popular bacon craze and have paired up Alaskan Smoked Porter with the flavor of maple bacon. If you’re into smoked porters, this one is excellent. This beer would be great to drink right along side of these cupcakes. The smokiness is strong, not overwhelming, and is a nice compliment to the bacon.

The funny thing about this recipe is that there is bacon dripping put right in the batter. I found the recipe on Vanilla Garlic and made a few modifications to incorporate the beer and increase the amount of cupcakes it made. If you’re looking to try your hand at plain bacon cupcakes, that would be a good recipe to start with.

I went with a maple flavored cream cheese frosting instead of the one in the original recipe. I added a bit of maple extract and some good ol’ Mrs. Butterworth to the frosting to get that breakfast-maple-fresh flavor. When you bite into these cupcakes it’s like all of the great things you love about breakfast, all rolled into one, and you don’t even need a fork!

We’ll be adding this recipe into our list of keepers. I’m pretty sure I’d like to have this one at the wedding too, I know some of my friends back in my hometown would love to try them. They’re the ones that got me so into bacon to begin with!

– Jackie

7 responses

  1. In my opinion, bacon should be served with everything; it’s just so darn delicious! You’re a genius to put bacon crumbles on top of these – I bet they’re divine!

    August 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm

  2. I need this recipe so bad so I can make these. We don’t get that beer out here, so I’ll just have to try a Saranac Maple Porter. Mmmmm

    August 1, 2011 at 3:32 pm

  3. It’s true, bacon does make everything better! I have to say that I did think that my friends back in Buffalo would really enjoy this one. I’m pretty sure these will be required at the wedding. : )

    August 1, 2011 at 3:45 pm

  4. OMG…two of my ALL TIME favorite flavors…bacon and maple! These sounds absolutely brilliant…and I’m betting they would be a perfect accompaniment to a pork roast…(where you could echo the maple flavor in the glaze/pan sauce). I’ll definitely try these…I don’t know if we have any local smoked porter…but I’ll bet I can find some! Thanks, sweetie…great job!

    August 9, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  5. Thank you! I love the idea of these accompanying a pork roast, sounds like a great idea!

    August 12, 2011 at 10:53 am

  6. Pingback: Best Snacks with Beers « beerdiary

  7. Pingback: Maple Cupcakes with Bacon and Beer « Sweet and Stout

Leave a Reply

