Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Vanilla Bourbon Stout Cupcakes with Espresso Frosting

Another chocolate cupcake to add to my list of favorites. This one is made with a Vanilla Bourbon Stout and is flavored with espresso and dark chocolate. I think this is the first local beer we’ve used! It’s from the Coeur d’Alene Brewing Co. and we successfully acquired a growler of it this past Sunday at the Steamplant Grill (Be sure to check out their Beer Menu, yum!). This beer is the nectar of the god’s. Whenever I go to the Steamplant, I have to get a pint, it’s my favorite of their beers.

I started these cupcakes off a little late last night. We met up with a new friend at the Steamplant to talk about beer and life. Then we ended up coming home with a growler of Vanilla Bourbon Stout. If you know me, you know I’ve been on a quest to obtain one since I was denied a few weeks ago. I did not leave disappointed.


Instead of just using regular Hershey’s unsweetened baking chocolate, I opted to use a couple of really dark chocolate (like 72% I think) candy bars that were flavored with espresso beans. I probably used 6 ounces of candy bar (and had a little left over for myself to enjoy) and it added so much flavor to the recipe. This beer is great all on it’s own (and also great with some vanilla ice cream in a beer float), but when I was melting the chocolate into the beer, it smelled extra amazing!

For the frosting, I used my regular cream cheese mixture, and added a little cocoa powder and about a shot of espresso. It turned out really good, not overpowering, but definitely a noticeable mocha flavor.

I think I’ll be adding these ones to the list of cupcakes I want to make for our wedding!

– Jackie

3 responses

  1. kat

    Oh yum!! Those look so good! Iā€™m new to this blogging thing and am loving the foodie community! If you have any advice, please do share! šŸ™‚

    July 18, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  2. Thank you! I’m kind of new to blogging too, but I can say that if you post regularly it will keep people interested. I always love looking through food blogs, there’s so much out there to try! : )

    July 18, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  3. Yum! It’s awesome that you used a local beer in this recipe. They look delicious!

    July 20, 2011 at 6:49 am

Leave a Reply

