Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Tripel 7 Lemon Raspberry

As promised, this weeks cupcake is not chocolate! This week we used a bottle of Scuttlebutt’s Tripel 7, a Belgian style ale. This beer was what you’d expect flavor-wise, for a Belgian style – citrus, a little sweet and smooth. While I don’t claim to be a beer connoisseur, the beer was good and I would drink it again when in the mood for a Belgian style. It helps that the price for a 22 oz. bottle was decent. As an added bonus, the label design is really cool, I am such a label girl!


On to the cupcake! I love lemon cake, it’s one of my favorite flavors. As I was looking around the interwebs for some inspiration I came across someone who had made a lemon cupcake with a raspberry center and I knew that’s what I wanted to do.

The cake recipe was pretty standard, lots of lemon juice & zest, I substituted my choice of beer for the milk that was called for. I find that making that switch usually works out pretty good, other times I will just add the beer then compensate for it with extra dry ingredients.

I had to go to 2 grocery stores to find fresh raspberries, who knew they’d be hard to find? I wanted to use fresh over frozen. Fresh raspberries are a little pricey right now, but I think it was worth it. For the filling we picked up some seedless raspberry jam, my favorite!

The frosting was a little bit of an experiment. I started out with a double boiler, some sugar and egg whites. I must not have gotten it to the right temperature, because no matter how long I whipped it, I couldn’t get the stiff peaks to form. Just when I thought it was close, I started adding my other ingredients and it lost it’s thickness.

I think I’m going to have to work on my egg white frosting, because it is really tasty when it’s done right. Last time I tried it was for the Lime IPA cupcakes with meringue, it went so well that I thought it was easy! I think my beginners luck is running out. What do you do with runny frosting? Add powdered sugar and corn starch, of course! I got the frosting all thickened up, but in the process I created entirely too much of it. I have so many plastic containers of random frostings and ganaches, I really need to have a frosting party and get these things eaten up!

I think these cupcakes turned out well, I wish I would have baked them for just a couple minutes less, but otherwise they tasted great. Okay, maybe I would also add more raspberry filling, that stuff is good!

– Jackie

4 responses

  1. Yum, they look delicious! I am a sucker for a good label – love it’s name and the awesome seahorse… Now I’m gonna have to go buy it!

    July 11, 2011 at 10:54 am

  2. I can’t resist a good label, and the name definitely makes you want to pick it up. It’s definitely worth trying. I’ve had a few of Scuttlebutt’s beers and have enjoyed every one so far.

    July 11, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  3. Good for you for seeking out those fresh raspberries, I’m sure they are delicious – they look gorgeous!

    I totally need to try to make some beer cupcakes!

    July 13, 2011 at 7:59 am

    • Thanks! You definitely need to give one of the recipes a try, you will not be disappointed!

      July 15, 2011 at 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

