Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Cookies and Cream Double Chocolate Stout

I’ve been wanting to try Young’s Double Chocolate Stout for a while now and I was not disappointed. This beer reminds me a lot of Guinness, it’s nitrogenated, very dark and very delicious. There’s a hint of chocolate, but it’s not over powering, a very tasty brew!

I know I’m a chocoholic, so I swear I won’t do another chocolate cupcake next week, I just couldn’t resist this time. The funny thing is that a coworker found me this really cool recipe to make these, and I left it at work over the holiday weekend. I still really wanted to make them, so I improvised. I used my go to chocolate cake recipe, see the ESB Chocolate with Salted Caramel (minus caramel and salt), and created a cookies and cream type of frosting to go with it. The frosting was basically cream cheese with a little Bailey’s Irish Cream (instead of vanilla) and some crushed up Oreos. It turned out really good (and I’m so happy there is extra in the refrigerator!).

I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again, one of the best parts about baking with beer is drinking it while you’re baking. My chocolate beer cake recipe calls for 1 cup of beer, so there was still half a can for me to enjoy. We started baking kind of early in the morning, so I felt a little bit naughty drinking before 11am. However, since yesterday was a holiday, I think that makes it okay. After baking, Dylan and I enjoyed another beer, a game of cribbage and watched our dog, Big, splash around in his puppy-pool. It was a really nice ā€“ and relaxed ā€“ holiday.

I hope your holiday was just as enjoyable!

– Jackie

Leave a Reply

