Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Gâteau aux Carottes

Wait a second, why is the title in French you ask? Well this weeks selection for Sweet and Stout gets it’s fancy flavor from Dogfish Head Brewery’s Raison D’Etre. While it’s not a french beer, the name is, and it means “reason to be” or as I’m finding on other sites, “reason for existance”.

I chose this beer because it’s a dark Belgian style brewed with beet sugar and raisins, a perfect pairing for a carrot cake, in my opinion. You can definitely taste the raisins as well as some other fruits as you’re taking a sip of this beer. It was kind of sweet, and after a few sips, I decided I liked it. I’m sure it helped that the ABV is 8%. Why are all the tasty beers so strong?

On to the cake! Poor Dylan got volunteered to grate carrots. Do you have any idea the amount of carrots that go into this cake? About 6 cups worth, that’s how much! The thing is, I thought I had 2 graters, turns out I only had one. The next time we make this cake, I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing all the grating.

This was my first time ever making a carrot cake and didn’t make a very pretty looking batter, but they really did turn out to be quite delicious. I never really knew I liked carrot cake until recently. I’m sad I’ve been missing out on eating this kind of cake for so many years.

Of course, we topped these off with the traditional cream cheese frosting. This time I made a bit more frosting so that we could use our frosting-cake-decorator thing and make it look all pretty for you!

– Jackie

4 responses

  1. Amanda

    These look awesome. I wonder if next time you could chop the carrots in a food processor?

    June 6, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    • It’s funny you mention that, Dylan had mentioned (after about 2 cups of carrot grating) that he was really tempted to run out to the store to get a food processor. I bet that would work, we just don’t have one. (yet… maybe a good idea for the wedding registry!)

      June 6, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  2. Oh my goodness!! You’re a blogger after my own heart! I love Raison De Etre – it is my reason for existence! 😉

    I still have a couple of bottles of this delicious brew in the fridge – I must try to concoct some carrot cupcakes to go with it – genius!! Although, I’m sure they won’t be as tasty as yours look!

    Again – another great pairing – bravo!

    June 6, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    • I want to try all of Dogfish Head’s beers! At first I wasn’t sure if I really liked the Raison D’Etre, but after a few sips I determined it was pretty good. It’s definitely different, but in a great way.

      June 7, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Leave a Reply

