Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal Stout Cupcakes

I think I need to start coming up with more creative names for my cupcakes. This one is a peanut butter lovers dream.

These cupcakes were Dylan’s idea. We had a few different bottles of Samuel Smith’s in the fridge, one being their oatmeal stout. (I should add that this beer gets very high mark’s on Beer Advocate. You should try it if you’ve never had it, it’s a very good beer.)

These were fun to make. About 45 minutes before I heated up the oven, I made this sort of chocolate peanut butter ganache and put it in the refrigerator (to be used later in the recipe). I made a basic chocolate stout cupcake to start with. Then after my ganache was cold, I hand rolled it up into little balls and plopped 1 in the middle of each freshly batter-filled cupcake liner.

I fear I may have baked these a little too long, but they still turned out great. I made some pistachio rosewater cupcakes with a nut brown ale a couple days ago for Dylan’s dad’s birthday and I didn’t bake them long enough, and now I’m paranoid about my baking times! I ended up figuring out a (tasty) workaround on those cupcakes, but they weren’t very pretty looking, so that’s why I won’t be posting them up here on sweetandstout unless I make them again some time.

These were just slightly over cooked, but the gooey peanut butter center and the peanut butter buttercream frosting definitely made up for it. Oh yeah, and Dylan thought we should top them with chopped up Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups … how could I disagree?

Aside from baking a little too long, the only thing I regret about these cupcakes is that I didn’t make more of them. My recipe worked out to making only about 15 cupcakes. It’s tough when you’re wildly mixing ingredients in the kitchen sometimes! The batter turned out pretty thick and looking back I think I could have increased the amount of beer I used and I would have gotten a few more cupcakes out of it. Oh well, there’s always next time!

– Jackie

2 responses

  1. Vicky Weyhing

    Those sound and look so delicious! (I’m moving to Spokane) ;-D
    Someone brought maple bars to work the other day and they smelled so good. It made me think of what you would come up with in a maple bar cupcake……

    May 25, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    • I didn’t even know about the greatness of maple bars until I moved to Spokane, they are delicious! That’s a great idea for a future cupcake, I’ll add it to my list. Thanks! : )

      May 26, 2011 at 8:16 am

Leave a Reply

