Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Pumking Pumpkin Cupcakes

I know it’s out of season, but pumpkin flavored everything is my favorite. I had this bottle of pumking Imperial Pumpkin Ale sent over to me from my Buffalo BFF from last fall and wanted to put it to use. I had already drank the other bottle she sent me and it is one of my favorite pumpkin beers.

This beer is sweet and it smells just like pumpkin pie (another favorite of mine), so I thought it would be excellent in a cupcake. Throwing seasonal thoughts aside, I went out to procure a can of pumpkin.  I have to say that canned pumpkin out of season is expensive, but totally worth it. I had left over cream cheese from the last cupcakes I made so I used that for the frosting.


While these cupcakes were in the oven my house smelled amazing. It was like pumpkin pie bliss in the kitchen. Once they were out and cooled I knew I wanted to make cream cheese frosting. Lately every time I have tried to make frosting, it kind of turns to more of an icing. I thought maybe if I could find a recipe without so much powdered sugar it would help, but I had trouble coming up with a good recipe without it. I came across a recipe that had butter in addition to the powdered sugar & cream cheese (and a little vanilla) and this frosting turned out to be amazing. Probably the best frosting I have ever created. I have some left over frosting and I will be surprised if it makes it through the week.

I’m sure I’m biased, but these cupcakes were so flippin great. I will make these again and again and again. I do have leftover pumpkin and I found a good sale on a different kind of pumpkin beer over the weekend. I may be the only one drinking a pumking ale in the spring, but I always have been a little different.

– Jackie

8 responses

  1. Amanda

    MMMMMM I think I need to make these even though I won’t see a pumpkin beer around here for months.

    April 25, 2011 at 11:04 am

    • I found some leftover (I guess) pumpkin beer at a local specialty beer store on clearance yesterday so now I don’t have to wait until fall to try and make these again. That was a good find.

      April 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  2. Oh my goodness!! A pumpkin beer and pumpkin cupcakes – my dream come true!

    I’d drink pumpkin beers (and Oktoberfest beers) all year long, if they had them in the stores after season!

    April 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm

  3. Amy

    Hello! Just found your site while looking up pumpkin beers. Cupcakes and beer are my two favorite things!!! Well done for putting them together! I have to ask though…do you share any of your recipes?? I’m dying to know how to make the cupcakes with a pumpkin beer. I’m an avid baker myself, what do you put in beer in place of in a recipe? Love the site!

    September 1, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    • Thanks! Pumpkin is one of my favorite flavors. I have posted a few recipes on the blog, not the pumpkin one though. We’re starting this as a business, so I don’t want to give away all the secrets, but … I will tell you that I usually substitute beer for water, or some other liquids your recipe might call for. Other times, I will just increase my dry ingredients to make up for the liquid being added with the beer. With pumpkin, I decreased the amount of canned pumpkin I used and put in beer instead. It just takes some experimentation to figure out what works for you! Hope that’s helpful!

      September 1, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  4. Amy

    That sounds so wonderful! Yum! Where can I buy one of your cupcakes??? Thanks for sharing! Great ideas!!

    September 3, 2011 at 10:58 am

    • We’re currently in the process of becoming a business. Hopefully it won’t be too much longer!

      September 5, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Leave a Reply

