Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Orange Belgian Style Cupcakes


Sometimes I want Dylan’s job… official taste tester of all my cupcake creations. These cupcakes went quick and so did the beer. This time we opted for a Great Divide Brewing Company Hades Belgian Style Ale. The beer was pretty good, and had that classic Belgian style taste. I’ve had Belgian style beers with an orange slice in the glass, so I figured why not try an orange cupcake?


This recipe was a little different from the last two in that I actually had to modify a recipe in order to incorporate the beer. The recipe I found called for 3/4 cup of orange juice, so I just made a substitution. I ended up adding more and using a full cup of beer as the batter seemed slightly too thick.

Instead of a frosting, I opted for an orange icing. Icing is fairly simple and while I did add orange zest to it, the main flavor of the icing was powdered sugar. I’m not complaining, I could eat powdered sugar all day. The icing was light enough though that it didn’t take away from the flavor of the cupcake.

These cupcakes were delicious. Regrettably I can’t pass some out to you over the interwebs, but I think you would agree. They were soft with a subdued orange-Belgian flavor that left you wanting more and I couldn’t resist. After the photoshoot I sat down with my glass of beer and made short work of these.

I would definitely make these again.

– Jackie

4 responses

  1. Amanda

    These look amazing!!! Did the beer have an orange flavor to it as well?

    April 11, 2011 at 10:41 am

    • The beer kind of had a fruit flavor to it, definitely a citrus and maybe some pear flavoring. (I’m not the best beer reviewer, hehe). It had a lighter, crisper taste than I was expecting. I think I was kind of expecting something like a Blue Moon. It had that same Belgian yeast taste but it wasn’t cloudy at all and it was very bubbly.

      I did really like the beer and it went down very easily. Turns out it has 7.3% alcohol, which is high and you could taste it, but it was good.

      April 11, 2011 at 10:57 am

  2. Kim

    They look very tasty too. You are very creative.

    April 11, 2011 at 11:07 am

    • Thanks! It’s fun trying to come up with flavors that will go with the beer we pick out.

      April 11, 2011 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

