Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Black Cherry Ale Cupcakes

This week’s cupcake idea is brought to you by Dylan. He’s been dying to show me the secrets to his black forest cake recipe. Lucky for us, we recently received a lovely package of beer from my best friend (Mrs. 100 Beers), and in it contained a bottle of Derailed Black Cherry Ale from Erie Brewing Company. What a perfect opportunity for Dylan to showcase his kitchen skills!

These cupcakes are really fun. Each cupcake has a gooey cherry center. Dylan shared with me, after they had all been filled, that there was also a bit of rum in each. Not being one to shy away from alcohol in a recipe, I congratulated him on sneaking that in. We topped each cupcake with whipped cream frosting, shaved chocolate flakes, and a cherry.

The only issue we ran across when making these cupcakes, was the fact that it was about 94 degrees outside. The kitchen was so hot from the oven being on so we had to take a lot of refrigeration breaks to help our frosting hold it’s shape. I’ve made whipped cream plenty of times, but never really considered it to frost a cupcake. I’m glad we went with it, the cream definitely complimented the cherries and the chocolate quite well. The thing I love about this frosting is that it’s not overly sweet. It lets the flavor from the cake and cherry filling take over. We each had to sample 2 cupcakes, just to make sure we got it right. I’d say this was a success.

After we garnished each with a cherry on top, I couldn’t resist the cuteness of these cupcakes! I could have taken many more pictures than I did. (I also could have eaten many more than I did) I think these will be added to the wedding cupcake list. These were very enjoyable all around.

- Jackie

2 responses

  1. These look great. I was just near Erie, wish I’d seen this first. The beer sounds great.

    September 1, 2011 at 3:28 pm

  2. This was the first of Erie’s beers that I have tried, it sounds like they have a good lineup of offerings. If I lived a little closer, I’d seek them out to try the others. I thought this black cherry one was one of the better fruitier beers I’ve had. (and it was a perfect fit for this cupcake)

    September 1, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers