Where beer and cupcakes unite!

Strawberry Cream Ale Cupcakes

One thing I love in the summer is strawberry shortcake. Fresh strawberries, whipped cream, and of course, the short cake, combined makes for a wonderfully delicious dessert. For this week’s cupcake I wanted to capture that flavor, but in my own way, of course.

We decided on using Laughing Dog Brewing’s Cream Ale, a wonderfully smooth ale, and a perfect compliment to the strawberry and vanilla flavor in the cake. I baked pretty early in the day, as to avoid the heat that will come later on. It’s been nice baking in the morning, it makes the day feel longer and gives me more time to work on other things. I used to feel funny about finishing off a beer before 10 am, but now, it doesn’t bother me so much! Half the beer went into the cupcakes, anyways.

On to the frosting. I kind of really dislike frosting some times. I tried a new recipe, but it turned out runny. I tried my best to fluff it back up with some powdered sugar, but all I really ended up with is a giant bowl full of strawberry icing. Maybe I should have just stuck to the cream cheese recipe I know and love. While the strawberry icing tastes pretty good, it’s just a lot thinner than I would have liked it to turn out.

Maybe I need to take a frosting making class or something! Does anyone have a go-to frosting recipe that always turns out really great? That’s how I feel about my cream cheese frosting, but I get tired of putting it on every single cupcake I make. I think I need to do a little more research and development on that. Anyways, I would consider these cupcakes a success, the only things I would do differently would be to add more strawberries to the batter (yum!), and work out a different frosting (something light & fluffy next time).

Thanks for reading!

- Jackie

5 responses

  1. Hi Jackie!

    I’ve got three recipes for you to try. Two are buttercreams…basic…one is regular and one holds up a bit better in humidity. I also have a Boiled Fluffy Frosting, which is virtually no-fail. It is a slightly different texture from the buttercream.

    I don’t know if you want your site clogged up with recipes…so do you want me to email them, and if so, to what address?

    Take care, and best of luck!

    Nevada

    August 15, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    • I would love for you to email them to me! sweetandstout [at] gmail .com. I can’t wait to try them!

      August 15, 2011 at 12:26 pm

      • Brilliant! They’re on their way…let me know how you like them, and if you have any questions, comments, problems, etc. by all means…holler!

        I used to be a Motion Picture and Television Property person and Food Stylist…(for years!) and I’ve always maintained a terrific Rolodex for virtually everything. If you ever have a problem finding or sourcing something, holler…I might be able to help you! I have several sources for almost every category…there’s almost nothing I can’t find.

        Hope the recipes help…take care and have a wonderful week!

        Love ya,

        Nevada

        August 15, 2011 at 3:07 pm

  2. Vicky Weyhing

    http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/cake/frostings-and-fillings

    Hi Jackie, Here are some yummy frosting recipes at this site, not to mention some good cake, cookie and cupcake recipes!
    Happy Baking. Only wished we lived closer to taste the yumminess!

    August 15, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers